Fellow of the American Association of Physics Teachers, 2016.

Halliday and Resnick Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, from the American Association of Physics Teachers, 2014.  Video of the acceptance talk by me and Bruce Sherwood, entitled Thinking Iteratively

Fellow of the American Physical Society, 2010.

Other awards include:

The Gertrude Cox Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology, from NC State University, 2004

Outstanding Professor Award, National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Carnegie Mellon University, 2001

Julius Ashkin Teaching Award, Mellon College of Science, Carnegie Mellon University, 1999

Computers in Physics Educational Software Contest Winner, 1992 (Electric Field Hockey)

EDUCOM / NCRIPTAL Software Award, 1987 – Best Tutorial (Introduction to General Chemistry, Smith,
Chabay, & Keane)